December 3, 2012

  • A collective unconscious

    My Uncle Norm passed away last Thursday evening/early Friday morning at the ripe old age of eighty-seven. Passing away is part of life and I know people who knew Uncle Norm are saddened - I would hope not because he died (that is part of life) but more because he's gone and they'll miss him. A subtle distinction yes; but an important one nonetheless (and one westerners, in general, could do a better job grasping). That aside...

    I am not a seer, or a wizard or anything of that sort; honest. But, I do believe I have a gift, shall we call it. I heard that my Uncle Norm passed away via an email my mom sent and which I read on Sunday afternoon. Nothing untoward there. However, this is where we do cross a line. Last Friday morning I woke up and related to G a dream I had through Thursday night/early Friday morning. A dream that, like near all my dreams (even since childhood), was utterly lifelike. Like I truly was there, in person, in the flesh. In that dream I was visiting my cousin Dale. Dale is the oldest of my many cousins. In the dream Dale met me at his door and was a wizened old man - looking like a cross between Yoda and Gollum; carrying a crooked stick and wearing little but a white loin cloth. We chatted, though now, on Monday night near on 4 days later, I cannot recall what we talked about which is a shame.

    That is the dream I conveyed to G Friday morning upon awakening.

    Where this becomes strange/creepy/fascinating (take your pick) is that Dale is the son of my Uncle Norm (who died the evening I dreamt this). Dale is also dead, having passed away about a year ago now after complications living a life with multiple sclerosis. Coincidence? Fate? Prescience? Again you can take your pick.

    G joked that if is it prescience I should do better foretelling the lottery numbers. But I don't think it works that way. I do not find it creepy as I have no belief in ghosts. Rather I continue to subscribe to an utter belief in what Jung coined (and Joseph Campbell perhaps best catalogued) a collective unconscious.

    I do wonder though if it was me reaching out to them or if they, rather, were reaching out to me. It does set one to wonder indeed....

    Regardless, may both Dale and Uncle North enjoy their next adventures till we meet again.


Comments (2)

  • Enjoy the gift given. It is a blessing. One in a great while I have the same.

  • Fascinating situation with the dream. My condolences to you and your family. While death is a natural part of life, it is still a shame when someone is no longer around to make new memories for others to cherish.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *